Blogs‎ > ‎

Tibig named 2014 top entrepreneur

posted Sep 17, 2014, 12:10 AM by Paulo Tibig   [ updated Sep 17, 2014, 12:22 AM ]

BALANGA CITY, Bataan—Paulo Tibig, a businessman born here, was named top entrepreneur on Tuesday in the first Asean Business Awards to be held in the country.

He is president of VCargo Worldwide, a logistics company formed in 1999.

A resource speaker sought after for his engaging presentations, Tibig has been cited as one of the Top Ten Entrepreneurs of 2005 by Entrepreneur Philippines; winning mentor in the 2007 Entrepreneur Schools of Asia Teenpreneur Challenge; and finalist in the 2008 Nokia Mobile Entrepreneur Awards.

The ASEAN Business Awards was established by the ASEAN Business Advisory Council whose local counterpart is composed of Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co. Chairman Manual V. Pangilinan, SM Investments Corp. Vice Chairperson Teresita Sy-Coson, and Interior Basic Export Corp. President Jay Yuvallos.

President Benigno Aquino III was the guest speaker of the awarding ceremonies  held at New World Hotel, Makati City.

This year’s winner in the Large Enterprise category is International Container Terminal Services Inc. which received the award for corporate excellence.

Pointwest Technologies won the Innovation Award for its consistent setting of new benchmarks.

Topping the ASEAN Centricity category is Golden ABC, recognized as a model for other local firms aiming to enter into the integrated ASEAN market, while Fountainhead Technologies Inc. won the Best Small and Medium Enterprise Award.

Sandra Sanchez-Montano, vice president for international affairs of Community Health Education Emergency Rescue Services Corp., won the Woman Leader Award.

Tibig and his co-awardees will represent the country in Myanmar this November in ceremonies to include winners of other Asean members.    

He is known in the business and entrepreneurship world as mentor and author of the best-selling book, “Strategies of a Champion Entrepreneur”. 

Tibig is former president of the Association of the Filipino Franchisers of the Philippines Inc. and past president of the Bataan Chamber of Commerce and Industry Inc.

Source: Manila Standard Today